December 13 2017

The South African Sugar Association (SASA) Council has adopted constitutional amendments which will mark the beginning of a new era for the sugar industry. The long-term solution will be implemented at the beginning of the new season on 1 April 2018. SASA, a statutory body representing the country’s sugar industry as per the Sugar Act of 1978, currently has two members – the South African Cane Growers’ Association (SACGA) and the South African Sugar Millers’ Association (SASMA). The new changes to the constitution will see the reconfiguration of these two members to ensure they are more inclusive and representative. The two members of SASA shall now be called Cane Farmers’ Federation (CFF) and Sugar Milling & Refining Federation (SMRF). CFF will be made up of SACGA, the South African Farmers Development Association (SAFDA) and others. The CFF representation will be determined on the basis of cane delivery and membership. The SMRF will be based on proportional representation (members/production). Both CFF and SMRF will each have 16 Councillors on the SASA Council.

The SASA Council also approved the payment of retrospective levies to SAFDA and any other SAFDA costs for the period 25 November 2015 to 31 March 2018. In another unprecedented development, the SASA Council will have an independent Chairperson, and there will be a Department of Trade and Industry observer at all SASA Council meetings. In the meantime, the interim measures include the granting of three SAFDA members an observer status with a voice on Council with immediate effect.


For media enquiries, please contact:
SASA Communications and Media Manager
Cellphone: 083 992 5100
Landline: 031 508 7023

Download Statement